Student Employee of the Year


Student Employee of the Year

The University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, in conjunction with the Western Association of Student Employment Administrators, is holding its 32nd annual Student Employee of the Year Program.

Each year, one outstanding UCCS student employee is chosen as Student Employee of the Year. The selected student receives a $200 award from the Student Employment Office and is entered in the regional and state competitions.

Nominating a Student

Supervisors may nominate any number of student employees for Student Employee of the Year by submitting a Campus Nomination Form and a one page Submission Letter. Up to three letters of reference may also be submitted and will be used in judging the UCCS competition only.

Return the completed forms to the Student Employment Office by 4:00pm, Friday, February 4, 2022. (the Campus Nomination Form and one page Submission Letter are word documents which should be saved, completed on your computer, and then emailed to student employment as an attachment to Late nomination forms will not be accepted.

Students must meet the following criteria in order to be nominated:

  1. Students must be work study, hourly or salaried student
    employees at UCCS.
  2. Students must have completed or expect to complete at least
    six months of part-time or three months of full-time employment
    with UCCS between July 1, 2021and June 30, 2022.
  3. Students must be in a UCCS degree program and enrolled in at least a half-time
    credit load for both fall and spring terms.

The Student Employment Advisory Committee will select the winner. It is important to note that entries will be rated based on NACE Career Readiness Competencies.


Student Employee of the Year Previous Recipients


School Year Name Department/Agency
2020-21 Daylin Dennis**** Clinical Simulation Learning Center- Helen & Arthur E. Johnson Beth-El College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2019-20 Jade Nelson Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
2018-19 Mickey Meehan Office of Financial Aid/UCCS Athletics & UCCS Police
2017-18 Agatha Graselia MOSAIC
2016-17 Shae Thomas Languages & Cultures/Anthropology
2015-16 Stella Brock College of Business
2014-15 Elizabeth Ritz Center for Excellence in Languages and Social Sciences
2013-14 Alysia Mota Student Health Center / OWL
2012-13 Nicolas Hostetter Office of Campus Activities
2011-12 Amanda Koback Student Life and Leadership
2010-11 Ryan Hollamby *** Department of Corrections/Psychology
2009-10 Staci Ruddy Beth-El College of Nursing
2008-09 Michael Reyes ** Office of First Year Experience
2007-08 Stephanie Szczech School of Public Affairs
2006-07 Amber M. Disney Residence Life and Housing
2005-06 Ida Dilwood Disability Services
2004-05 Jonathan George NISSC
2003-04 Lindsay Anstaett Residence Life and Housing
2002-03 Brook M. Zellmer
Honorable Mentions:
Ashley A. Williams Adrienne L. Yazzie
Facilities Services

Excel Writing Center
Kramer Family Library
2001-02 Karen A. Clem International Student Services
2000-01 Scott E. Elliott Department of Public Safety
1999-00 Valeri D. Schaefer * College of Engineering
and Applied Sciences
1998-99 Jared E. Miller
Honorable Mentions:
Kira L. Claussen Christopher M. Schodorf
Facilities Planning & Construction

School District 20
School District 11
1997-98 Anthony J. Cordova University Center
1996-97 Carleen A Mench Financial Aid/Student Employment
1995-96 Cheryl M. Kubes Financial Aid/Student Employment
1994-95 Pat S. Shargel Corporate Workforce & Economic
Development Center (A Division of PPCC)
1993-94 Bryan A. VanSickle Department of Public Safety
1992-93 Laurine A. Szymanski Bursar's Office
1991-92 Richard A. Leyba University Center
1990-91 Kevin A. Carver Financial Aid/Student Employment

****Daylin Dennis was also selected as the state winner for 2020-2021!!!!

***Ryan Hollamby was also selected as the state winner for 2010-2011!!
**Michael Reyes was also selected as the state and regional winner for 2008-2009!!
*Valeri Schaefer was also selected as the state, regional, and national winner for 1999-2000!!